2016 October Book Wrap-Up

October was a wonderful reading month for me despite having exams this month.

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

5.png

7736182

The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan

5.png

9520360

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan

5.png

12127750

The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

5.png

12127810

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

5.png

18705209

The Demigod Diaries by Rick Riordan

5.png

15925005

As you can see… I have been busy. I completed the whole The Heroes of Olympus series and it had once and for all pulled me out of my 5-year reading slump. I hadn’t read victoriously until recently because I moved to an English-speaking country 6 years ago, and was never confident enough to read English books. I was used to finishing a book within a few hours in Chinese. When I tried to read English books, I get frustrated at how slow I am reading because of the language barrier, and never had the patient to keep reading.

Now that my English has improved, I can’t wait to explore a whole new world of books in this language. I made a good decision to start with Percy Jackson and the Olympian series, which was so captivating that I had to keep reading reading. I loved the Percy Jackson and the Olympian series, but I was still a slow reader and took long breaks between reading. I loved The Heroes of Olympus even more, mostly because the characters are aged up a bit and there are different perspectives to the story. Finishing 5 books + a companion book in a month is a great achievement for me. This means I can finally enjoy English literature just like native speakers. For this I have Rick Riordan to thank.

I’ve also done a November TBR which can be seen here.

8 thoughts on “2016 October Book Wrap-Up

      • Angie says:

        I used to stay away from book with Greek or Roman or Norse mythology concept but uncle Rick made me love them.❤ I’m a huge fan. 💜

        As of now, I finished the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. On Percy Jackson and the Heroes of Olympus, I’ve read until The Mark of Athena, my next would be House of Hades. And I just read the first book on his Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard’s series. Love them all!❤

        Though unfortunately, the Egyptian mythology series of his was a miss for me. 😿 but that series is the exception.🙋

        Like

      • Rin Vreíte says:

        I’ve always loved mythology, especially Greek mythology. If it wasn’t for the cursed 5-year reading slump and the fact that I didn’t know these books existed. I would have read them as soon as they came out. I’ve powered through the Percy Jackson and The Heroes of Olympus series and I loved them!! The Heroes of Olympus series more so. And now I’ve finally read the Hidden Oracle after the agonising 2 weeks wait for my library reservation. I’ve finally read The Hidden Oracles which was another level of awesomeness. Because Apollo. I will start the Norse and Egyptian series but not after my exams. I’m at the 4th and 6th places on the reservation list which means another agonising wait but I can finally focus on my exams. After than I will have to wait for 4 more years for the whole Trials of Apollo series 😱. Not looking forward for the wait but definitely looking forward for the books!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Angie says:

        I had an ultimate book hangover after the end of the Harry Potter series and I seriously can’t find the will to read anything until I discovered the gem that is Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. After that I discovered a new magical world.😍

        I haven’t started The Hidden Oracles as I haven’t finish the Heroes of Olympus series. Hopefully this year. *fingers crossed*

        I’m sure the series is worth waiting for.❤

        Like

      • Rin Vreíte says:

        Same here, I just really like fantasy books. Good luck with your reading! The Heroes of Olympus was really good and the Trails of Apollo look really promising. I loved the first book. Apollo is a really good character with so many layers. The series is defintley worth the wait even though the wait will be filled with agony. I remember getting into the Harry Potter trend pretty late so I didn’t have to wait that much, and this time I have to wait for 4 or 5 years. You can’t rush perfection though, so I guess we will just have to wait

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

