Alice in Wonderland Book Tag

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland was published 151 years ago today, 26th of November 1865. To honour this classical novel written by Lewis Carroll, I have created the Alice in Wonderland book tag.

There are 12 books for 12 chapters in the novel. Each item represents something that is relevant to a theme addressed in the chapter.

It had been a difficult tag for someone who didn’t read a lot of English books (I know, I created it myself), so there may be some repeats. However, I’m very proud of the tag itself (even though there are questions I can’t answer) and would love to be able to share it on this special day. I hope you would be able to answer them in a much better way then I did. The reason The Hidden Oracles is so prevalence is because 1) I just read it and it’s fresh in my memory, and 2) it just fitted so many questions. I hope you would have fun doing the tag yourself and maybe do it better than I did without so many repeats.

Down the rabbit hole

Pick the first novel you’ve read / remember reading

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

236093

I read my first novel at age 6, it was a Chinese translation version of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

The Pool of Tears

Pick a book that deals with the battle between reason and emotion

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

5.png

18705209

Annabeth had to learn to give up logics and follow her emotions just as Piper suggested.

The Cacus Race and a Long Tale

Pick a book with a lack of clear purpose or a book that comments on meaninglessness

Genealogy of Nihilism by Conor Cunningham

769552.jpg

Now, I haven’t read this book as I don’t read non-fictions in general. However I really can’t think of a fictional book that deals with nihilism. I think nihilism has been given a bad name due to the innate fear people have for meaninglessness. It would be great if people actually understand it more.

The Rabbit Sends a Little bill

Pick an anime that deals with the discomfort of growing up.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

5.png

26252859

Apollo was definitely uncomfortable about the whole puberty thing, he spent the whole book complaining about it!

Advice from a Caterpillar

Pick an anime that deals with identity crisis. 

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

5.png

26252859

Apollo defiantly didn’t like being Lester, but he will have to live with it.

Pig and Pepper

Pick an anime that challenges traditional social norms.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

5.png

26252859

Rick Riordan faced a lot of backlashes from the characterisation of Nico in The House of Hades. So he upgraded the game in The Hidden Oracle.

A Mad Tea-Party

Pick an anime that challenges principles of the universe.

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

5.png

15724396

Who knew there are actually 9 worlds? Mythology as a whole sees the world differently than how we see it, but I think Norse Mythology challenges the principle of the universe most by having 9 dimensions of different worlds.

The Queen’s Croquet Ground

Pick an anime that deals with the artificial and natural beauty.

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

5.png

7736182

While the book wasn’t centred on beauty, Piper as a character is a representation of how authenticity and confidence are more beautiful then nice dresses and perfect makeups.

The Mock Turtle’s Story

Pick a book that questions morality.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

15507958.jpg

Now I haven’t read the book (getting to it), but I have watched the movie and I know what it is about. I’ve always supported what was brought up in the book but I am sure those who don’t would get a new perspective on this topic and maybe have their sense of morals challenged.

Lobster Quadrille

Pick a book where a character is isolated, with no one being able to understand them.

The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

5.png

2120932.jpg

Who Stole the Tarts?

Pick a book that question justice or the legal system.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

2657.jpg

I haven’t read this classic (I know). However I couldn’t think of a better book to fit this question.

Alice’s Evidence

Pick a book where a character has an epiphany.

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

5.png

968.jpg

The big reveal at the end (which cannot be mentioned here due to spoilers) had not only blown the mind of the characters, but also lead me to my own epiphany. It freed me from the binds that were my own beliefs and let me explored the world more freely. As a result my belief system has now changed and I have not been happier.

So that was the second book tag I have created. If you liked this tag, please like this post or leave a comment below. If you want to do the tag yourself please leave the url to your blog or channel in the comment section. I’ve also done an anime tag, which can be found here.

5 thoughts on “Alice in Wonderland Book Tag

Leave a Reply

