2016 November Book Wrap-Up

November wasn’t my best reading week. I didn’t get to read the Kanes Chronicles because for some reason, the library doesn’t have The Red Pyramid despite having the other two books. Now, I would start a rant about having the sequals in the series without the first book but this is for another post. Here is what I did read this month.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

5

26252859

I borrowed it during exams period. I read it within two days instead of studying. No regrets (at least not until my results come out). Apollo is truely the handsomest, most talented, most popular god. He is arrogant yet hilarious as a human. It was hard to related to him in the beginning, but as he developed and became more and more human, I can’t help but to sympathise him. Loved it and can’t wait for the second book.

Buffering: Unshared Tales of a Life Fully Loaded by Hannah Hart

4

28217831

This is the favourite YouTuber book I have read so far. I have written a full review on this book which is avaliable here.

Percy Jackson and the Sword of Hades by Rick Riordan

5

4837112

I found this short story at the back of the paperback version of The Hidden Oracle. This explained so much. When I read The House of Hades I was so confused about Bob. I thought I must have forgotten a very important plot for the first series. I loved the story and am glad that my memory is working fine.

Girl Online Going Solo by Zoe Sugg

1

30340276T

Yes, I didn’t like book 1 (you can see the review here) and I didn’t even read book 2. But book 3 appeared on the audiobook section on the elibrary. So I thought I would give it a try to see if it would improve. It did improve but I still didn’t like it. I may write a review on this in the near future.

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

5

15724396

This is the first time I read a Rick Riordan book of a different mythology. Without giving too much spoilers. I would like to say that this book was awesome. It was unlike the Greek series at all. Magnus Chase is a sarcastic and funny character who reminds me of Percy but is completely different. I would love to read the second book but the library only had one copy and I was still on the reserve list th day I had to leave the country. I will just have to wait another 3 months for Hammer of Thor then.

Demigods & Magicians: Percy and Annabeth Meet the Kanes by Rick Riordan

5

26031279

I read found this short story in three parts at the back of different Rick Riordan books. I just happened to read them in order and I’ve completed the whole short story after reading The Crown of Ptolemy at the back of The Sword of Summer. I loved this short story even though I am as confused as Percy and Annabeth was about the Egyptian magic.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

5

19064

I’ve finished the rest of the book as an audiobook. This book wasn’t international beseller for nothing. It captured my emotion and at the same time deliver a very important message: the power of words is limitless. I love the story and the characters.

For those who are interested in seeing what I will be reading in December 2016, you can have a look at my TBR here.

One thought on “2016 November Book Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

