2016 December Book Wrap-Up

So I didn’t read as many books as I meant to in December, I’ve planned to read 5 books in December and ended up reading 6, but only 3 out of these 6 books were planned, the other 3 were just audiobooks I listened to when I’m doing mind-numbing errands or workouts. I wanted to read The Demigod Files and Percy Jackson and the Greek Heroes, but I couldn’t find them in the library network. There is rarely an available copy, and when there is, it’s always too far and would get borrowed before I get the chance to go to the library. However, I did finish the Kane Chronicle series, which I had been waiting to read for a very long time.

The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

5

7090447

The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

5

9067850

The Serpent’s Shadow by Rick Riordan

5

12893742

I’ve finally got my hands on the Kane Chronicles series and finished it. While I still prefer the Greek and Nordic Series, the Egyptian series were unique and fun in their own way. The new style of writing is quite refreshing, switching between Sadie and Carter and written in the format of an audio transcript (or is it actually an audio transcript?). Unlike the Greek series, where I’ve already had prior knowledge of the mythologies, I learnt quite a lot about Egyptian mythology and ancient Egypt in general. I can’t say much without spoiling the book, but I do recommend it to any fantasy lovers or anyone who would enjoy a good adventure story.

Gordon Ramsay: On Top of the World by Neil Simpson

3

6378358

I’ve listened to the audiobook that happened to be available in the e-library during a few make-out sessions. The book was okay to me. There were quite a lot of interesting facts from this interesting person. Gordon Ramsay is truly a very inspiring person who had achieved what he had achieved today with hard-work and dedication. However, as it’s written by a third party, it feels like something that could be read in a journal article and doesn’t give the insight autobiographies do. Also, when addressing a lot of controversies regarding Gordon Ramsay, the author is pretty biased in favour of Gordon Ramsay. A balanced, “outsider” view should’ve been a strength of a biography, but this one had neither that nor the “insider” view of autobiographies.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

1

41865

I’ve actually tried to read twilight a few years ago as an attempt to bring myself out of what would eventually become a 5-year reading slump. Let’s just said it didn’t went well. I had to stop half-way because of how bored I was, and I was pushed even deeper in the reading slump as the result. In the beginning of this year, I was finally out of the horrendous reading slump after reading Rick Riordan’s writings. I thought maybe I should give twilight another chance as it doesn’t sit well with me that I didn’t finish a book. Well, the book stayed the same. I understand why some other girls liked it, it does feed on your fantasy. However, it wasn’t enough to distract me from how useless and weak the protagonist was, and how ridiculous her decision was.

Does My Head Look Big In This? by Randa Abdel-Fattah

0

79876

Well, twilight wasn’t a good read, but THIS was my worst read. I wrote a review on it which is coming very soon. Stay tuned if you want to know why I hated this book so much. Meanwhile, you can read my review on the other book written by the same author here.

One thought on “2016 December Book Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

