New Year New Book Tag

As it is the start of the year, and book reviews take effort, I’ve decided to do a New Year book tag to gloat reflect on the readings I have done in 2016. This book tag was created by Matt Luigi from Reading with Luigi, but I can no longer find his blog.

How many books have you read last year? Thoughts about your accomplishment? 

1

It’s actually not very good considering that I didn’t even start reading a lot until the middle of the year (which is a big regret on my behalf), and the number includes manga, which takes less than 1 hour to read.

What was your biggest regret on reading / as a reader last year? 

Why didn’t I start reading earlier? If you didn’t already know, I have had a 5-year reading slump. It was horrible, it was devastating. I’m glad I finally snapped out of it and started reading again. However, I can’t help but hope that I have started this like 5 years ago.

What are you most thankful for what happened to you as a reader last year? 

I’m thankful that I finally got out of the reading slump and started reading again. I’m also thankful that I can finally read English books without falling asleep. That’s a big accomplishment! I feel like Rick Riordan deserves these thanks the most as it’s his writings that pulled me out of this reading slump.

How many books are you planning to read this year? 

As I finished 67 books last year without reading much for the first half of the year, I feel like 120 would be a reasonable goal. Again, I’m including manga and audiobooks, so it’s really not a hard goal.

What are your goals in 2017 as a reader? 

I want to finish all the popular YA series out there. I always feel left out of the reader community as I haven’t read this book. Also, as I’ve made a good start getting out the reading slump by reading fast-paced books that are written for children and young adults (all hail to the almighty Rick Riordan!), so I’m going to keep that going this year and avoid the adult section for now.

An additional goal to read at least one Japanese light novel. I hope this would slowly ease myself into reading more complex Japanese literature.

What is your biggest bookish dream, that you wish to happen this year? 

If the whole Trials of Apollo series and the whole Magus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series can come out at once. I would be really happy. But perfection cannot be rushed.

If you’ll wake up after celebrating the new year into a fictional place and you’ll have to spend your entire 2017 there, what fictional place would it be? 

I’d probably be crying about the new year instead of celebrating it. But if I can live in a fictional place for a year then there is something to be celebrated. However, does that mean I have to return after one year? Can I just choose another place for 2018?

If I have to choose, I would choose Hogwarts, because it’s Hogwarts.

hog2warts

Who are the two fictional characters you want to spend your 2017 with? 

Percy Jackson and Leo Valdez, in Hogwarts. Imagine that.

Leave a Reply

