2017 March TBW

As I came back from Japan, I’m planning on watch more anime before homework gets crazy. So many good stories out there and soo little time! This year I’m planning on only watching the ones I assume would be good, instead of just trying anything that is pushed to me by broadcasting companies.

夏目友人帳 伍 –  Natsume Yuujinchou Season 5/ Natsume’s Book of Friends Season 5

81755l

Natsume Yuujinchou season 5 had finished airing and season 6 is on the horizon. I want to complete season 5 this month before writing a review for all 5 seasons as a whole. Natsume Yuujinchou is one of the few animes I think are more popular in Japan and Asia, and very underrated here in the west.

斉木楠雄のΨ難 – Saiki Kusuo no Psi Nan/The Disastrous Life of Saiki K.

80167l

This hilarious 5 minutes episode series have finally finished airing after 120 episodes and I’m excited to complete them.

干物妹!うまるちゃん – Himouto! Umaru-chan / My Two-Faced Little Sister

75086l

I’ve seen

この素晴らしい世界に祝福を!– KonoSuba: God’s Blessing on This Wonderful World!

77831l

It is repeatedly dubbed “The best anime in 2016”, which makes me really want to see what the hype is about. While I’m sceptical that anything can be better than Gintama, but I guess they mean the best anime that started airing in 2016. Since it is available on AnimeLab, I’m aiming to complete season 1, and catch up on season 2 which is simulcasting. I have high hopes.

私がモテてどうすんだ – Watashi ga Motete Dousunda / Kiss Him, Not Me!

81953l.jpg

This anime has finished airing. I’m watching it mostly for closure, even though I didn’t really like the story.

鋼の錬金術師 – Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

47421l

I have put this off for long enough. So I started watching Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood last year, I loved it but just stopped when it was approaching the ending, mostly because I was too nervous about knowing what the ending was and decided to take a break from it.

Now I’m starting to forget what happened before so I better finish it this month.

名探偵コナン – Detective Conan

75199l

I’ve started watching Detective Conan since I was 6, and it is also the series where I started learning Japanese from. Without it, I’d probably not be learning Japanese at the moment. However, the series went on forever (Conan is in his 30s now, what’s the point?) and I stopped watching it a few days ago. Now I want to re-visit the anime and maybe catch up on all the missed episodes.

銀魂。– Gintama

83132l

Finally, the almighty best anime ever. Gintama is entering its final season and I can’t tell you how exciting I am. On one side I would be sad for it to end, on the other hand, I’m glad it doesn’t fall into the pattern of long-running shounen anime that aim to stretch into infinity no matter the cause to maximise profit (cough, Naruto, cough One Piece, cough, Detective Conan). Gintama doesn’t have summary episodes or unnecessary flashbacks to stretch the series out. I’m so happy that the author decides to put an end to the series so it doesn’t go downhill in terms of quality as ideas are drying out like a lot of mainstream shounen series. So this year I would enjoy the finale, and sob afterwards when I realise that I can’t see more of these characters anymore. Then I will read the manga and re-watch the whole thing over and over again.

Leave a Reply

