2017 March Wrap-Up

So… I messed up…

I only read 3 books this week, and 2 of them are audiobooks.

I know… I know… I was busy… That was definitely not an excuse. It is definitely not weird that I had time to watch so much anime but none to read books.

But let’s leave the past in the past and look forward. Let’s look at the 3 books I read.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

2

22910900

I found this book through BookTube (should I start a YouTube channel as well?? I want to be anonymous, though…). It wasn’t hyped up in BookTube so I didn’t have a high expectation going in. The book ended up being quite mediocre, which was what I was expecting anyways. I did like the premise of focusing on the normal people instead of the ‘chosen ones’. Exploring how civilians are affected by the conflicts that are often portrayed in YA novels. However, the book ended up being a normal contemporary story with a few explosion and unexplained death scattered here and there. It is also impossible not to notice how calm the characters were. Normally if what happened in the book happened, people would be packing to leave the town straight away.

More Than This by Patrick Ness

3

21969786

I quite like this story. The beginning of the story made me quite uncomfortable for reasons that would be spoilers. However, it turn out to be a lot more mind-twisting than I thought it would be. I went in the book without even reading the synopsis so there were a lot of surprises for me. I would say it is a pretty typical “Matrix” story, but the plot focuses more outside the matrix. There were a lot of moments that I thought was very raw and intimate. The one problem I had with the story was I still don’t really understand what was going on, and the lack of a sense of closure just doesn’t sit well with me.

The Dark Rival by Jude Watson

5

359816

This is the second book in the Star Wars Jedi Apprentice series which follows a young Obi-Wan Kenobi with his master Qui-Gon Jinn. I love the adventure element of the story and while the character development. The writing was not the most profound but you have to keep in mind that it was intended for children, not young adults. I’m obviously not judging the book as harshly as I judge others, but it is a children series meant for 7-8 years old and I didn’t think it would be fair to held it to the standard in which I judgement YA books.

Leave a Reply

